The SOI - Symphony Orchestra of India

Resident Orchestras of the IWCF 2020

The SOI is the Resident Orchestra of our Festival and will be performing with us  on all the concerts.

The Symphony Orchestra of India is an amazing orchestra with soloists and professors from all around the world. 

The Symphony Orchestra of India (SOI), based at the National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA), Mumbai,  was founded in 2006 by NCPA Chairman Khushroo N. Suntook and internationally-renowned violin virtuoso Marat Bisengaliev, who serves as the Orchestra’s Music Director. Zane Dalal was appointed Associate Music Director of the SOI in September 2014, following serving seven years as Resident Conductor.  The SOI has worked with renowned conductors including Charles Dutoit, Martyn Brabbins, Carlo Rizzi, Augustin Dumay, Yuri Simonov, Lior Shambadal, Rafael Payare, Adrian Leaper, Johannes Wildner, Evgeny Bushkov, Duncan Ward, Karl Jenkins, Mischa Damev, Alexander Anissimov, and Christoph Poppen, and more. Soloists appearing with the SOI have included Maria João Pires, Augustin Dumay, Simon O’Neill, Cédric Tiberghien, Alina Ibragimova, Barry Douglas, Angel Blue, Zakir Hussain, Edgar Meyer, Béla Fleck, Tamás Vásáry, and Lena Neudauer, amongst others.
In the decade since its inception, the Orchestra has performed around India and internationally. Tours have seen the SOI perform in the Hall of Columns, Moscow, and the Royal Opera House, Muscat.


The IWCF - India Word Choral Festival 2020 is 

organized  by the NCPA Mumbai and the  IWCG ORG.